Animation Annie Awards Tonight, Watch It Live at 7pm

43rd annual awards show recognizes the best in animation

By Gabrielle Pantera

Live stream of event starts on Feb. 6th, 2016 at 7pm PST

HOLLYWOOD, CA (Hollywood Daily Star) “Last year, we thought outside the box a little bit and tried a new ceremony format, with no specific host,” says ASIFA-Hollywood executive director and Annies organizer Frank Gladstone. “Instead, our presenters acted as mini-hosts, each introducing a block of awards. Happily, this proved to be a big success. The ceremony was fun, fast and fantastic, so we are going to do it again. As we have seen over the last several years, our audience, nominees and range of films continues to grow.”

“This year we introduced an important new category, Best Feature-Independent,” says ASIFA-Hollywood president, Jerry Beck. “We will now recognize not only features in wide release, but also the independent animators, international studios, anime and special productions that might not otherwise get the attention they deserve.”

Returning for a second year to present Annie trophies are the comedy-folk duo Garfunkel & Oates – actress-songwriters Riki Lindhome and Kate Mucucci. Joining the duo as presenters are actor, producer and director Edward James Olmos with actress Rita Moreno; actor & writer Tom Kenny (SpongeBob SquarePants) with actress Laraine Newman (Dawn Of The Croods); actors Alexander Garfin and Hadley Belle Miller (“Linus and Lucy” from The Peanuts Movie); actresses Kristen Schaal (Bob’s Burgers) and Phyllis Smith (‘Sadness” from Pixar’s Inside Out); and actor Kevin Michael Richardson and composer Christophe Beck.

The Annie Awards cover 36 categories and include Best Animated Feature, Best Animated Feature-Independent (new this year), Special Productions, Commercials, Short Subjects, Student Films and Outstanding Individual Achievements, as well as the honorary Juried Awards. The winners will be announced at a black tie ceremony on Saturday, February 6, 2016 at UCLA’s Royce Hall. A pre-reception and press line begins at 5:00 pm with the awards ceremony following at 7:00 pm. A post-show celebration immediately follows the ceremony.

All events will be held at Royce Hall. This year’s Best Animated Feature nominations include: Anomalisa (Paramount Pictures), Inside Out (Pixar Animation Studios), Shaun the Sheep The Movie (Aardman Animations), The Good Dinosaur (Pixar Animation Studios), and The Peanuts Movie (Blue Sky Studios, Twentieth Century Fox Animation). Best Animated Feature-Independent nominations include: Boy And the World (Filme de Papel), Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet (Ventanarosa), The Boy and The Beast (Studio Chizu), and When Marnie Was There (Studio Ghibli). The Juried Awards honoring career achievement and exceptional contributions to animation will also be presented. Three Winsor McCay recipients have been selected by the ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors – Joe Ranft, Phil Roman and Isao Takahata for their career contributions to the art of animation; and the June Foray recipient – Don Hahn for his significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *