EXCLUSIVE: Nat Geo Wild Mother’s Day Special, Nat Geo Wild SVP Janet Han Vissering says, “Motherhood is one of the most incredible bonds”

Parc des Volcans, Rwanda: Female mountain gorilla holding baby. (Photo credit: NGS Image Collection / Michael Nichols )

Premieres, on Monther’s Day, the moms of the animal kingdom on May 14th, 2017, at 6am PT, 9am ET on DirecTV

By Gabrielle Pantera

HOLLYWOOD, CA (Hollywood Daily Stars) 2017/5/14 – “Motherhood is one of the most incredible bonds that exist for both humans and animals,” says Nat Geo Wild SVP of production and Development Janet Han Vissering.  “I think our viewers will be surprised at how similar we all are in the animal kingdom. As a family friendly network, Nat Geo WILD is celebrating moms of all species this Mother’s Day with an adorable day of programming highlighting animal moms around the world.”

In the Nat Geo Wild Mother’s Day Special, our planet’s wild animals raise their young. Animals have similar parental styles to our own. A lineup of programming suitable for the entire family.

Safari Live gives a front-row seat to an actual safari. Our guides get up close and personal with some of Africa’s most iconic species in real time.

Animal Moms explores the ways in which animal mothers rear their young. A mix of science, stories and moments show how animal mothers devote their lives to their babies.

SOUTH AFRICA- A touch of motherly love for a leopard cub. (Photo credit: Geraldine Kent)

May 14th, 2017  6am PT, 9am ET

  • Safari Live: Mother’s Day Special

Safari Live presents a broadcast dedicated to the animal mothers of the African wilderness. The guides give a front-row seat to safari rides in South Africa’s National Park Kruger. Live broadcast from Maasai Mara to showcase its wildlife.

May 14th, 2017  5pm PT, 8pm ET

Mothers of the animal kingdom. In the moments following birth., animal moms establish bonds with newborns. Mothers’ maternal instincts kick in to keep their young safe, fed and healthy.

May 14th, 2017  6pm PT, 9pm ET

Animal moms must cope as their youngsters grow from infants to toddlers. Play time is extremely important for baby animals. Animal moms’ tactics for tackling tantrums, bullies and child care.

May 14th, 2017  7pm PT, 10pm ET

Animal babies learn by mimicking their mothers. Essential skills that will keep them alive in the wild. Animal mothers teach their young how to communicate, behave and find food. A group of super-surrogate moms are vital in preserving the future of various species.

National Geographic Partners LLC (NGP) is a joint venture between National Geographic and 21st Century Fox. Nat Geo Wild is a TV channel focused primarily on wildlife and natural history programming.

Twitter:@Jhanvissering@natgeowild@NGC_PR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *